Season 5 Summary

The images on the DS9 DVD collection sum up this series nicely. With each progressive disk, there are more and more Jem’Hadar ships. By the final disk of the season, there is a horde of ships. This season is characterized by the final period of the cold war between the Federation and the Dominion. In this season, the tensions are wound tighter and tighter with each encounter with the Dominion. I see Apocolypse Rising (Ep. 5.1), By Inferno’s Light (Ep. 5.15), and Ties of Blood and Water (Ep. 5.19) as episodes where the Dominion is starting to throw it’s weight around more. Even Blaze of Glory (Ep. 5.23) to an extent, because this showcases the political influence of the Dominion.

Traditionally, I’ve thought that Season 5 was the best DS9 season. Watching it again, I’m reminded why I’ve thought that. There are some fantastic episodes. The episode …Nor the Battle to the Strong (Ep. 5.4) is phenomenal. I love this one because I think we are too quick to judge and need to be reminded of our own weaknesses. For the Uniform (Ep. 5.13) was devilishly excellent, and I loved seeing Sisko walk the line between Starfleet and evil. It also leaves the viewer with the question of whether Sisko was acting justly or not. By Inferno’s Light (Ep. 5.15) was all-around good. I particularly loved how Worf’s courage was portrayed. Children of Time (Ep. 5.22) though, without a doubt, is my favorite episode of this season. The ethical dilemma was well constructed, Odo’s actions felt selfish and real to me, and the idea that the crew could directly see their legacy struck a cord with me. In the Cards (Ep. 5.25) is one of my favorite “Life on the Station” episodes. It was pretty funny; Weyoun was especially funny in that episode. I’ll give Trials and Tribble-ations (Ep. 5.6) a favorable mention because it was an homage to Star Trek as a whole. I wasn’t super excited about it personally, but I certainly appreciate the sentiment it portrayed. Like I said in my Season 4 summary, picking a single season as my favorite is hard. But if I had to, it would be Season 5 as my favorite while Season 4 was a very close second. But I say that lightly, as re-watching Seasons 6 and 7 may change my mind.

This season really highlighted the idea of there being no good options. Several episodes presented the crew with options of “bad” or “worse” (For the Uniform, Ep. 5.13; Children of Time, Ep. 5.22; Blaze of Glory, Ep. 5.23; Call to Arms, Ep. 5.26). The meta-narrative of the season, permissiveness by the Federation to avoid war, strikes this tone of no good options. War should be avoided at all costs, but inaction can make lives harder, particularly for marginalized people. I think this is an important realization for life. Good options are not always available. I think this is most relevant with considering the actions of others. Because of this, I want to try to give more grace and strive for more understanding with others. People may make the choices they do because they’ve been lead to a place with no good options ahead of them. It’s yet another discipline that should help keep us humble in the face of a complex world.

Random Thoughts: 1) Favorite episode of the season: Children of Time (Ep. 5.22). 2) Honorable mention: By Inferno’s Light (Ep. 5.15). 3) Sadly, a key writer leaves the show after this season. Robert Hewitt Wolfe leaves the show. He wrote some great early episodes and was instrumental in crafting the meta-narrative.

~ by Joshua Black on October 7, 2018.

Leave a comment